PDA

View Full Version : 1000pts/Imperial Guard/Friendly

ChaosD.
18th April 2009, 08:00
This isnt exactly an army list. More of recquired help. Im new to guard just starting them as alot of people are. However the only lists i have seen are 2000,1500 or even 23,000 pt lists. I usually used to use a 1500pt list and just minus the 500pts. But from previous experiance i find that its best to build a fresh one up from 0. So i was wondering if any Guard Vets could give me help to make a good, traditional guard list.

I only have 20 shock troops and a Commisar Lord at the moment, but this list should hopefully help me dictate what i shall buy next.

jonne12345
18th April 2009, 21:06
Hi i have some experience with IG so hopefully i can be of some assistance.

a traditional gurad is based on alot of guardsmans this is also the best way to create an army that can kick some ass.

so my advice is to get more guardsman at least 6 squads with plasma and missile launcher or heavybolter and 2 heavy support squads 1 with mortar and 1 with lascannons this is a good core in your army then later jut ad things you like.

My best tips are:
1) plasma and missilelauncher to shocktroops
2) 3xmeltas and no heavy to veterans
3) 3 or 4Flamers to platoon command squads= counter charge = GOOD!!!!
4) dont put lascannons in squads= waste lasshots on tanks
5) grenadelaunchers sucks
6) get plenty of AP weapons like basilisk, plasma etc because 40 lasshots to wound a terminator or Hivetyrant is NOT ok you need those shots where they counts like genestealers, gaunts etc.

well if you liked the tips and want some more just ask :)

sgt.Peter Stone
18th April 2009, 21:14
Like he said a good gaurd army begins with men alot

gernade laucher do not suck

ChaosD.
18th April 2009, 21:23
Right so lots of squads, with good combos on weapons. Flamers in Command Squads. I'm thinking about buying a leman Russ or two, any variants good. Another point, do i take big Platoons or small platoons but lots of them?