Post Thanks / Like

500/1000 Pt Armies - Necrons

Hi folks,

I'm a relatively inexperienced player; I've been playing on and off for a few years now and have never had a really 'serious' battle that I've put a fair amount of preparation into. However, one of my good friends has told me he's dying to have another match (it's been a while since he's played too), and I'm very keen to restart my '40K adventures' on the right foot. =)

In any case, I'll be playing Necrons - it's the only army I actually have, and I love the little guys to bits. From what he's told me he has 5 armies, and all I know is that he's at least got Imperial Guard and Orks. We decided so that it's not too daunting for me to get back into the swing of things, we'd do a small 500 point game first, then boost it up to 1000 points.

The 500 point army, as expected, is fairly straitforward:

500 Pts
    Necron Lord - 100
    Necron Warriors (10) - 180 [280]
    Necron Warriors (10) - 180 [460]

Of course, I have 40 points left over, and this is where my first bit of advice seeking comes in - what is the best way to spend these points? Should I invest in 2 more Warriors for some extra firepower, 3 Scarab Swarms to tie up any enemy units I'm concerned about, or upgrades for the Necron Lord (the Resurrection Orb seems like the most influential choice out of the lot given the points restriction). My gut says to go for the Scarab Swarms; close combat seems like it'll be an even bigger weakness in such small games so being able to avoid it, even just a little, might be tremendously helpful. From what I can gather reading the codex, it seems like the Imperial Guard are cheap enough to be able to field at least one Leman Russ, even in such a small army, so perhaps putting my Lord on a destroyer platform and upgrading him to a Warscythe is the way to go.

1000 Pts
    Necron Lord - 100
    Necron Warriors (10) - 180 [280]
    Necron Warriors (10) - 180 [460]
    Destroyers (5) - 250 [710]