Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    How do grenades work?

    Hi all, I've got a question about the grenades - frag and krak ones.
    How do they exactly work? I've mini rulebook from AoBR (not in English) but it doesn't specify it. I'd be grateful if someone described me their usage including details, e.g. if I use them, I'll lose 1 attack/whatever...
    Thanks!

    Last edited by Korhil; 4th November 2011 at 19:59.
    Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    The only Forum Zombie Angelofblades's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    10,992
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ok so you have the rule book right?

    Turn to page...36

    It talks about grenades there

    You can also check page 63 for how it works against vehicles.

    Now for specific army grenades like psy-out, psychostropic etc. Refer to the individual army codex and check in the wargear section. It describes exactly how it works.

    Last edited by Angelofblades; 3rd November 2011 at 13:18.
    Good judgement comes from experience, alot of that comes from bad judgement
    [quote="Tahaal"]And AoB, git ova' 'ere. I want to make love to you.
    [quote="The_Peacemaker"] Everytime he uses it I look away.
    [quote="LT Claws"]EDIT: Dude Angelofblades you said it all. You=Awesome
    [quote="spruecutter"]may whatever diety you worship bless you AoB.
    Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Spherically Challenging edmundblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Geometry
    Posts
    31,264
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    They're "passive" in that as long as you have them and assault, they get used. Refer to the pages AoB mentioned.

    Grey Knights don't go to heaven: they go to hell and regroup.
    Cheaphammer 40p.
    Space Elves.
    Some scribblings.
    sneggy: I feel both pleased and violated......
    Baragash: Inflation has nothing to do with GW's price increases unless WHW is actually a Zimbabwean embassy.
    Architech: I'm so proud that he's the only forum member with me quoted in his sig...

    Reply With Quote

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    lebanon pennsylvania
    Posts
    656
    Post Thanks / Like
    You usually pull a pin or push a button then throw and duck.
    Sorry had too.

    Reply With Quote

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Seattle-ish
    Posts
    7,477
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    "First shalt thou take out the Holy Pin, then shalt thou count to three, no more, no less. Three shall be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three. Four shalt thou not count, neither count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three. Five is right out. Once the number three, being the third number, be reached, then lobbest thou thy Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch towards thy foe, who being naughty in My sight, shall snuff it."

    - d4c -

    Originally Posted by Architech View Post
    "The true test of power is not in being right, but in making others think you are"
    Reply With Quote

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Newport, Shropshire, UK
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    1...2....4, No sire 3, 5! (i think thats right?)
    Had to be done!
    But as above basically, defensive ones nullify the +1 charging bonus, frag grenades nullify the effects of charging through difficult terrain and the others are mainly for against tanks.

    Reply With Quote

  7. #7
    Never enough lascannons. jago668's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,681
    Post Thanks / Like
    Originally Posted by herplover View Post
    You usually pull a pin or push a button then throw and duck.
    Sorry had too.
    Just to clarify, you throw the main grenade assembly not the pin.

    The true man wants two things: danger and play. For that reason he wants woman, as the most dangerous plaything.
    Friedrich Nietzsche
    Reply With Quote

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    lebanon pennsylvania
    Posts
    656
    Post Thanks / Like
    Originally Posted by jago668 View Post
    Just to clarify, you throw the main grenade assembly not the pin.
    Thanks for watching my back on that.i should have made myself clear.hopefully no vorpel bunnies were hurt by my lack of details.

    Reply With Quote

  9. #9
    warchitect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    692
    Post Thanks / Like
    yeah, its just modifies how close combat plays out. with modifiers.

    Reply With Quote

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Huh, I've already known how they work
    Just one more question - can I use more than 1 grenade by model per turn? E.g. - my GKs' Inquisitor has both Rad and Psychotroke grenades - am I able to use them both in the same turn or have to choose between 'em?

    Reply With Quote

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Seattle-ish
    Posts
    7,477
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    When using a grenade attack, like tossing a krak grenade at a tank... you only get one attack, not the number in the models profile. So you would have to choose which grenade to thow

    - d4c -

    Originally Posted by Architech View Post
    "The true test of power is not in being right, but in making others think you are"
    Reply With Quote

  12. #12
    Never enough lascannons. jago668's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,681
    Post Thanks / Like
    While d4c's answer is correct it doesn't address what kor asked. Yes if it isn't a direct attack like d4c mentions then you can use all your grenades. So you can use frag, rad, psyk-out, and psycotrope (or however you sprell them) all together.

    The true man wants two things: danger and play. For that reason he wants woman, as the most dangerous plaything.
    Friedrich Nietzsche
    Reply With Quote

  13. #13
    The Truth Architech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    12,706
    Post Thanks / Like
    In other words...the bonuses stack for passive means....but when making an attack say on a vehicle...you may not use Krak and Melta from the SAME model

    -Admin-



    LastChancer: "Arch, you are my hero"
    Lemartes: "Arch is truth"
    Reply With Quote

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    if it isn't a direct attack like d4c mentions then you can use all your grenades. So you can use frag, rad, psyk-out, and psycotrope (or however you sprell them) all together.
    Thanks, that's what I wanted to hear.

    So as far as "active" grenades are concerned - when I'm assaulting a vehicle with let's say 5-men Grey Knight Terminator Squad, I can throw 5 krak grenades at it (or just 1? I'm not sure if I've understood d4c correctly) plus 3 regular CC attacks from each model (2+1 for charging). Am I right? If not - correct me.

    Reply With Quote

  15. #15
    Never enough lascannons. jago668's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,681
    Post Thanks / Like
    It would be 1 grenade attack per person, or their normal close combat swings. So you would have to choose which you wanted on a per model basis. So say you had 5 grey knight terminators and 1 of them has a hammer, the rest are swords. Then you could choose to make 4 grenade attacks at initiative, and your 2 attacks (or 3 if charging) with the hammer at initiative 1. Or you could make all 5 with grenades and take no normal attacks.

    The true man wants two things: danger and play. For that reason he wants woman, as the most dangerous plaything.
    Friedrich Nietzsche
    Reply With Quote

Similar Threads

  1. Question about grenades
    By Ben Lo in forum Grey Knights
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd July 2011, 19:34
  2. Grenades?
    By goldcommander in forum Grey Knights
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th April 2011, 12:53
  3. painting grenades
    By tdickson22 in forum Painting / Conversions / Artwork
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th September 2009, 14:26
  4. Grenades!
    By Phaedrus in forum Imperial Guard
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st July 2009, 05:10
  5. 5th Edition and Grenades
    By yWizePapaSmurfy in forum Warhammer 40k General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th March 2009, 20:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today’s Posts | Search Warvault Webring
An exclusive design by: ForumSkin