Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 25 of 25
  1. #21

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    514
    Post Thanks / Like
    If a warlord has a trait saying you can use their leadership, or a item that allows it, the priest can use their leadership, however you usually can not.

    Reply With Quote

  2. #22

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well, the trait does not say "models within the warlord's unit and models 12' away" -that would mean, that without the trait, they cannot.

    it just says "models that are within 12" of the Warlord use the Warlord’s Leadership value when taking Act of Faith or War Hymns Leadership tests"

    it could be, that the trait benfits far models only...

    Reply With Quote

  3. #23
    Gorkagirl SonsOfStalingrad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Staffordshire, UK
    Posts
    9,944
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    34
    No, it doesn't only benefit far models. Models within twelve inches. Unless the Warlord's unit is large, each model in that unit will be within twelve inches of the Warlord. It doesn't need to include the unit itself, because th range qualifier already does that.
    In fact, the Warlord is also within twelve inches of itself, for what it's worth.
    Literally within twelve inches means any model, including the model with the rule, benefits.
    There's a lot to be said about how the rules are worded, but this isn't ambiguous.

    Reply With Quote

  4. #24

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Originally Posted by SonsOfStalingrad View Post
    No, it doesn't only benefit far models. Models within twelve inches. Unless the Warlord's unit is large, each model in that unit will be within twelve inches of the Warlord. It doesn't need to include the unit itself, because th range qualifier already does that.
    In fact, the Warlord is also within twelve inches of itself, for what it's worth.
    Literally within twelve inches means any model, including the model with the rule, benefits.
    There's a lot to be said about how the rules are worded, but this isn't ambiguous.
    The discussion is not about the warlord's trait, nor it's ambiguous.
    The discussion is about if an individual can benefit from it's comrades higher LD on he's LD test,and the warlord trait makes sense either way.

    Reply With Quote

  5. #25
    Gorkagirl SonsOfStalingrad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Staffordshire, UK
    Posts
    9,944
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    34
    no, that bit of discussion was about the warlord's trait. Clearly so.
    The question of if an individual can use the LD value of other models in a unit the model in question is also in comes down to the wording of the test requiring LD value to be rolled.

    Generally, things like Fear, pinning and morale use the highest Leadership available, as it is the unit that is taking the test as a whole, even if the test was initiated by a single model being wounded by a pinning weaon.
    However, there are some skills and psychic powers that require a model to take a test - In this case, the model uses only its Leadership, as the rule outlines.
    This is the case with a War priest.

    As an additional exception to the above outlined exception in which you use the model's Leadership instead of the unit's, some rules confer bonuses - Such as Stubborn meaning the roll is unmodified, or granting a re-roll, or even saying certain tests may be taken using that model's based on either range or being in the same unit.

    TL;DR:
    A test being taken by the unit as a whole, even if caused by a single model, are taken on the unit.
    A test being taken by a model in a unit is taken by the model alone.
    In both cases, the test can be effected by rules that state they do.

    Reply With Quote

Similar Threads

  1. Harlequin Leadership Bomb
    By Phail in forum Warhammer 40k Army Lists
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7th March 2015, 10:08
  2. leadership bomb idea
    By jmg202 in forum Chaos Daemons
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th March 2013, 08:48
  3. Dreadnought Leadership
    By Solis Luna Astrum in forum Grey Knights
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd July 2012, 13:31
  4. Conscript Tactica: part 3 - Leadership
    By Pox in forum Imperial Guard
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 9th November 2009, 20:46
  5. autarch+banshees mixed unit question
    By Sybrite in forum Eldar
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th September 2009, 11:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today’s Posts | Search Warvault Webring
An exclusive design by: ForumSkin