Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Pathfinders and Markerlight Question

    I have been out of the hobby for many years now but have only recently been drawn back in, with the new release of 8th edition.
    I have been looking into starting a completely new army - I have pretty much landed on Tau Empire but I have still yet to decide fully.

    My question regards Markerlights and how they function in the game.

    Let's say I have 6 Pathfinders and I want to fire that squad at an enemy unit. Now with each Markerlight hit I get, it adds a cumulative bonus. Now saying that should I roll each dice separately instead of all together - this would allow bonuses to effect the rest of my firing Markerlights. I have an Example down below:

    Pathfinder 1: Lands a hit giving re-rolls of 1
    Pathfinder 2: rolls a 1 but because I have one hit already he can reroll that dice roll of 1? He then rerolls and bumps the marker counter to 2.

    Another Example:
    Let's say the Pathfinder unit moved

    3 of the six Pathfinders land hits, would that mean that the 4th, 5th and 6th Pathfinders could fire as if they hadn't moved? Due to the fact, a counter of 3 means you down count as moving so you can fire at normal BS?

    Thanks for the help and I hope this is in the right place,

    kind of knew at this Forum stuff.

    Happy Gaming!

    Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Leonix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New England USA
    Posts
    8,203
    Post Thanks / Like
    Units don't benefit from their own marker hits.

    http://forums.relicnews.com/images/userbars/tau.jpg
    "We are tau. We do our best not to commit wanton murder, even in the fires of war. But if you donít mind your place, our options will be limited."
    ~Commander Shadowsun
    Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,462
    Post Thanks / Like
    I do believe that all models firing the same weapon at the same target from the same unit count as fire at at same time whether or not you roll them together.

    Reply With Quote

Similar Threads

  1. Help! Are there Markerlight bits?
    By Xarboth in forum Tau
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th November 2014, 15:03
  2. Network Markerlight Question
    By Nac_Mac_Feegle in forum Tau
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st July 2013, 17:57
  3. Markerlight Questions
    By Josafoot in forum Tau
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th August 2012, 18:03
  4. Markerlight Q's
    By TAUuser in forum Tau
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th July 2011, 01:29
  5. Quick Markerlight question ?
    By commandojimbob in forum Tau
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th April 2009, 18:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Todayís Posts | Search Warvault Webring
An exclusive design by: ForumSkin