Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    The only Forum Zombie Angelofblades's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    11,127
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Artillery units and allocation of wounds

    Looking for clarification or probably resonance of what I think is right.

    So artillery units don't really existas they did in 7th ed - there are no "Artillery," type units per se. But in a fashion they do, example: Ork Big Gunz, Thunder Fire Cannon, Rapier Laser destroyers etc.

    So this came up in a game, but I'm pretty sure I was right, though I let the rule go by way for my opponent.

    I'm firing upon a unit of Ork Big Gunz. According to the Big Gunz rule- the gunners can't be targeted unless they're the closest. But additionally, according to the FAQ, they're treated as separate units.

    Could the ork player assign wounds done on the Gunz to the grots?

    I say no.

    So the follow up question comes up.

    How do you determine Morale? Since it says they're separate units, does that mean each gun you destroy doesn't count as a casualty for the entire unit ?

    Charges. Since each model is separate, does that mean I can charge the grot gunners only, then pile in/ consolidate into the rest - bypassing overwatch?

    Good judgement comes from experience, alot of that comes from bad judgement
    [quote="Tahaal"]And AoB, git ova' 'ere. I want to make love to you.
    [quote="The_Peacemaker"] Everytime he uses it I look away.
    [quote="LT Claws"]EDIT: Dude Angelofblades you said it all. You=Awesome
    [quote="spruecutter"]may whatever diety you worship bless you AoB.
    Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,495
    Post Thanks / Like
    Originally Posted by Angelofblades View Post
    Could the ork player assign wounds done on the Gunz to the grots?
    No they are separate units.

    Originally Posted by Angelofblades View Post
    How do you determine Morale? Since it says they're separate units, does that mean each gun you destroy doesn't count as a casualty for the entire unit ?
    Yup. The gun is a single model unit, so it's unaffected by moral.

    Originally Posted by Angelofblades View Post
    Charges. Since each model is separate, does that mean I can charge the grot gunners only, then pile in/ consolidate into the rest - bypassing overwatch?
    Yes, but you have to wait until next turn to attack the guns, because you didn't charge it.

    You pretty much have it all right.

    Last edited by Nikolai; 12th July 2017 at 19:21.
    Reply With Quote

  3. Like Ann liked this post.
  4. #3
    Ann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    near Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    2,229
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    16
    Interesting questions. I run a lot of artillery units in my ork army so this is good stuff to look at for me as well.

    Unfortunately, even with the FAQ there is still an ambiguity in that some players are going to read, "each Big Gun and each 2-model group of Grot Gunners act as separate units," as meaning that a big gun with two grots forms a single unit, and other players are going to read it as the big gun and two grots are two separate units.

    I originally read it as the big gun and two grots being one unit. After looking at it further, reading the FAQ, and noting that a Space Marine techmarine gunner is a separate unit from the thunderfire cannon and I see nothing in the Index 1 FAQ changing this, I am now of the opinion that the grots are a separate unit from the gunz, so I agree with what Nikolai wrote.

    Last edited by Ann; 12th July 2017 at 19:33.
    Ann's Imperium: My gaming blog on Wordpress.


    Reply With Quote

  5. #4
    Tahaal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Your mom's house, waiting in line
    Posts
    2,595
    Post Thanks / Like
    There is no rule for mixed toughness units, and any unit that would have mixed toughness (say, Nobz and ammo runts) has a rule on their datasheet about how to handle it. The FAQ definitely make it clear, but a little logic applied would have figured out that clearly, they were meant as separate units (also, what would be the point of the take cover rule?).

    In this edition, the gunners are a crutch for the artillery. If you can get to them, they die much easier than the guns, and the guns can't fire if they don't have a gunner nearby.

    The Eternal Lurker
    Reply With Quote

  6. #5
    Gorkagirl SonsOfStalingrad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Staffordshire, UK
    Posts
    9,944
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    34
    The FAQ helps - when in doubt, I always use the weakest or most restrictive version of a rule - i'd rather play at a disadvantage than play it wrong to my own strength. So I did roll Leadership for an associated Grot crew when their gun died.
    With the FAQ making it more clear they're separate units, it means that they wouldn't be so bothered.

    Reply With Quote

  7. #6
    Morendie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Confusion only comes by when you overthink it too much, thinking that there is some hidden complication or complexity like in 7th. Literally you take it at face value, if it says they are seperate units, then they are seperate units, don't over complicate it. If they are seperate then they are unaffected by morale of another.

    <---- Washington State Player, Centralia WA
    Reply With Quote

  8. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    3,099
    Post Thanks / Like
    no wounds have to go to the cannon

    Reply With Quote

  9. #8
    The only Forum Zombie Angelofblades's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    11,127
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Just wanted to share this little nugget of genius that came up in a game against Orks; had my opponent realized this and done it; it would've freed up 18 orks sitting on objectives and had them barreling at me full tilt instead of twiddling their choppas.

    According to Mek Guns and Big Guns, you only need a single grot gunner to be within 3" to man it - now it's accepted that the same grot gunner cannot man multiple artillery guns but....

    Each Mek Gun comes with 5 grot gunners...and if the gunners and guns are separate units after deployment.... you could use 1 set of grot gunners that come with a Mek Gun to man any other Big/Mek guns as long as you put them next to each other and keep your 2" coherency. This leaves you free to run grots to capture objectives....

    Good judgement comes from experience, alot of that comes from bad judgement
    [quote="Tahaal"]And AoB, git ova' 'ere. I want to make love to you.
    [quote="The_Peacemaker"] Everytime he uses it I look away.
    [quote="LT Claws"]EDIT: Dude Angelofblades you said it all. You=Awesome
    [quote="spruecutter"]may whatever diety you worship bless you AoB.
    Reply With Quote

  10. Like Ann liked this post.
  11. #9
    Ann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    near Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    2,229
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    16
    Originally Posted by Angelofblades View Post
    Each Mek Gun comes with 5 grot gunners...and if the gunners and guns are separate units after deployment.... you could use 1 set of grot gunners that come with a Mek Gun to man any other Big/Mek guns as long as you put them next to each other and keep your 2" coherency. This leaves you free to run grots to capture objectives....
    Seems legal to me, and a good, late game strategy.

    Ann's Imperium: My gaming blog on Wordpress.


    Reply With Quote

  12. #10
    The only Forum Zombie Angelofblades's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    11,127
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally Posted by Ann View Post
    Seems legal to me, and a good, late game strategy.
    Well I don't know about late game - grots aren't exactly known for their speed. But they are great at hiding, diminutive size and all

    Good judgement comes from experience, alot of that comes from bad judgement
    [quote="Tahaal"]And AoB, git ova' 'ere. I want to make love to you.
    [quote="The_Peacemaker"] Everytime he uses it I look away.
    [quote="LT Claws"]EDIT: Dude Angelofblades you said it all. You=Awesome
    [quote="spruecutter"]may whatever diety you worship bless you AoB.
    Reply With Quote

Similar Threads

  1. Where do wounds inflicted by a bombing run count-as for wound allocation?
    By Darian in forum Warhammer 40k General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st October 2013, 20:14
  2. IC in units and wound allocation question
    By Bacon Wrap in forum Warhammer 40k General Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 22nd February 2011, 16:40
  3. Multiple wounds and allocation (yes, another nob biker quest
    By Redwyrmling in forum Warhammer 40k General Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 20th November 2009, 17:24
  4. Artillery units and cover saves.
    By Angelofblades in forum Warhammer 40k General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th June 2009, 06:59
  5. Blast Templates and Artillery units
    By Angelofblades in forum Warhammer 40k General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th May 2009, 03:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today’s Posts | Search Warvault Webring
An exclusive design by: ForumSkin