Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like

    Order of Operations-Nids (Noob)

    If I have a Lictor and Termagants in my reserves could I play the lictor from my reserves then activate a command points to use pheromones to bring in the termagants? Also, would this count as the termagants have moved for the Kronos fleet ability?

    Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    Originally Posted by AOD View Post
    If I have a Lictor and Termagants in my reserves could I play the lictor from my reserves then activate a command points to use pheromones to bring in the termagants?
    Yes.
    Originally Posted by AOD View Post
    Also, would this count as the termagants have moved for the Kronos fleet ability?
    Yes.

    Reply With Quote

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Here is another dumb question:
    For the Bio-Artifact Tyran Scythes, it states that you must be of the behemoth fleet with only scything talons to be able to equip it. Does this mean you can only have scything talons to equip it or does it mean you must atleast have scything talons?

    Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    It may only be used by models that have at least one set of Monstrous Scything Talons.
    In contrast look at the Slimer Maggot Infestation witch requires two Deathspitters with Slimer Maggots.
    So you can take a shooting weapon along with it.

    Reply With Quote

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    I appreciate you taking the time to help. Thank you.

    Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    FAQ now confirms.

    Q: When using the Pheromone Trail Stratagem, can you bring
    the Lictor onto the battlefield in the same turn as the unit that it
    acts as a homing beacon for?
    A: Yes – simply bring the Lictor onto the battlefield
    before the other unit.

    Reply With Quote

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Your awesome and I appreciate it. It’s a really nice combo, lictor cp in the termagants for 90 shots then cp them to shoot again.

    Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    How are you getting the Termagaunts in to begin with? Pheromone Trail requires the unit to enter from reserves on it's own. I just don't know how you're bringing Termagaunts in.

    Reply With Quote

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Couldn’t I just place them in reserves during building my force?

    Reply With Quote

  10. #10
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    No. All units must be deployed on the battlefield during deployment, unless a special rule allows them to do otherwise.

    Reply With Quote

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    Then how does the tervigon work? Wouldn’t you need the figures you intend on bringing in, in reserves?

    Reply With Quote

  12. #12
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    The Tervigon itself specifies that it and a unit of infantry are held in reserve, in it's ability. But there is no default way to hold something in reserve. That needs to come from a special rule. It can come from a unit, faction, stratagem, or a mission, but it's not baked into the base game.

    Reply With Quote

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    What about the gargoyles swoop ability? Do you have to play a Harriden in order to use that ability?

    Reply With Quote

  14. #14
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    No. The Harriden part is just fluff. Gargoyles can deep strike compleatly on their own.

    Reply With Quote

  15. #15
    Acceptable Sneggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    9,203
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    Originally Posted by Nikolai View Post
    How are you getting the Termagaunts in to begin with? Pheromone Trail requires the unit to enter from reserves on it's own. I just don't know how you're bringing Termagaunts in.
    You could put them in a Trygon tunnel to reserve them.

    But lictors pheremone trail has now been FAQ'd so trygon tunnels and jorgamundr reserve units cant use it.
    So it only works on the units which come in via the strategems (sporefield and the genestealer one) rendering it somewhat pointless.

    Reply With Quote

  16. #16
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    Wierd. Because of the wording I wasn't sure that it even worked with Stratagems.
    Spore mines don't work with it, because they're not infantry.

    I was thinking it could only be used properly with Genestealer Cult.

    Reply With Quote

  17. #17
    Acceptable Sneggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    9,203
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    3
    I hadn't even looked at Genestealer cult as I assumed it required the HIVE FLEET keyword. Don't have the rule in front of me, is that not the case?

    Reply With Quote

  18. #18
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    Nope. "Tyranids Infantry unit".

    Reply With Quote

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    11
    Post Thanks / Like
    What about bringing them as reserves via endless swarm stratagem and combining that with pheromone Trail, would that work? Could you link m to the FAQ?

    Last edited by AOD; 21st December 2017 at 02:23.
    Reply With Quote

  20. #20
    Nikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Billings MT
    Posts
    1,553
    Post Thanks / Like
    https://www.warhammer-community.com/faqs/

    I tend to just google "40k FAQ".

    Originally Posted by AOD View Post
    What about bringing them as reserves via endless swarm stratagem and combining that with pheromone Trail, would that work?
    Probably, but that's a stupid amount of CP to spend on a unit you still need re-buy with matched play points.

    Reply With Quote

Similar Threads

  1. Israel army 'to get legal advice during operations'
    By grimgrimly in forum 40kforums 1st Company
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th January 2010, 15:26
  2. Painting Order of Operations
    By guiltl3ss1 in forum Painting / Conversions / Artwork
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 1st December 2009, 19:59
  3. Order of Operations
    By Angelofblades in forum Warhammer 40k General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th November 2009, 00:36
  4. How common are joint Space Marine Chapter operations?
    By Chnamanjx in forum Warhammer 40k Background and Stories
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th March 2009, 01:08
  5. Mail Order Techmarine - Advance Order
    By Andy in forum Warhammer 40k News and Rumours
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th December 2004, 02:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today’s Posts | Search Warvault Webring
An exclusive design by: ForumSkin